study the boys

Fashion, for some strange reason, tends to be deemed as a feminine interest. Thanks to a gradually improving society, androgynous models and boys who wear makeup are becoming more commonplace. Still, we expect women to set trends and rarely give a thought to male models or designers. Why do we feel the need to overlook such iconic styles solely because they’re worn by men?

Don’t get me wrong; personally, I consider myself a stereotypically feminine dresser. I don’t feel like myself if I wear a suit and I will always apply makeup before leaving the house. But that doesn’t mean I can’t include style elements observed from certain stylish men in my own outfits.

One of my favourite men to gain inspiration from is Alex Turner. Since the release of Arctic Monkeys’ 2013 album AM, hipster boys everywhere have taken it upon themselves to quiff up their hair and pop the collars on their leather jackets. But what have the girls done? For some, they’ve done the exact same thing. But for girls who tend to incorporate celebrity styles more subtly into their wardrobes, here are some trends that I’ve tended to pick up on:

1.) leather jackets

2.) aviator sunglasses

3.) dark matte colours

4.) old band tees

5.) cute patterns – i.e. monochrome hearts

6.) …don’t forget the ridiculous animal print.

 

Are these the only way to incorporate elements of male celebrity style into your wardrobe? Absolutely not! These are just some of my favourite examples I’ve seen thus far. Feel free to switch out the zebra blazer for a pair of stilettos or the leather jacket for a pleather dress (I speak from experience here).

Whatever it is you choose to do with your look, make it count. Show off your true self, but don’t be afraid to experiment with new pieces and styles. You’re sure to look flawless as long as you feel as such.

Stay lovely,
Lo

***I do not claim ownership over any of the images presented here. All rights to their respective owners.

Leave a comment